Faculty Advisory Committee on Diversity and the Target of Opportunity Program

The Faculty Advisory Committee on Diversity (FACD) is composed of tenured faculty members representing all four academic divisions of the University.  They advise the Dean of the Faculty on issues and initiatives relating to diversity and inclusion.  

Resources are available to support the efforts of academic departments to diversify the faculty through the Target of Opportunity Program (ToO). The Dean of the Faculty is specifically interested in supporting faculty candidates who can contribute to the University’s diversity, broadly defined, including members of groups that have been historically and are presently underrepresented in the academy or in particular disciplines, such as racial and ethnic minorities and women in STEM.  Department nominations are reviewed and approved by the FACD. 

Current members of the FACD include:

  • Carlos D. Brody, Wilbur H. Gantz III '59 Professor in Neuroscience. Professor of Molecular Biology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute.
  • Mitchell Duneier, Professor of Sociology. Chair, Department of Sociology.
  • Elizabeth R. Gavis, Damon B. Pfeiffer Professor in the Life Sciences, Professor of Molecular Biology.
  • Simon E. Gikandi, Robert Schirmer Professor of English. Chair, Department of English.
  • Amaney Jamal, Edwards S. Sanford Professor of Politics. Director, Mamdouha S. Bobst Center for Peace and Justice.
  • Jakub Kastl, Professor of Economics.
  • Chika O. Okeke-Agulu, Professor of Art and Archeology and African American Studies.
  • Monica Ponce de Leon, Professor of Architecture. Dean, School of Architecture.
  • Rodney D. Priestley, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering. Vice Dean for Innovation.
  • Jennifer L. Rexford, Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor in Engineering. Professor of Computer Science. Chair, Department of Computer Science.
  • J. Nicole Shelton, Stuart Professor of Psychology. Head of Butler College.
  • Howard A. Stone, Donald R. Dixon '69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Chair, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

For more information about the Target of Opportunity Program and the process for requesting support, please contact any of the FACD members listed above or Deputy Dean of the Faculty Toni Turano.