B. Academic Units

1.    For the conduct of its work of instruction and research the Faculty is organized into academic units, which include departments, schools, institutes, centers, and programs. 

2.    The chairs and directors of these units are appointed by the President, usually for a term of three or four years, after consultation with the members of the Faculty concerned. The duties of the chair or director of an academic unit are:

       a. To call and preside over all meetings of the unit.
       b. To bring to the attention of the participating faculty for discussion and action all matters which may pertain to the work and efficiency of the unit.
       c. To represent the unit in all administrative dealings with the President of the University.
       d. To prepare proposals for appointment, reappointment, or advancement in rank or salary of unit members. 
       e. To perform such other duties in connection with the work and administration of the unit as the President of the University may assign to the chair.

3.    Within the general framework of the rules and procedures established for the Faculty as a whole, each unit determines its own procedures and internal organization and establishes such committees as it finds desirable.

4.    The unit is corporately responsible for all of its courses and programs of study and research.

       a. It may recommend to the Faculty through the appropriate Faculty committee the institution of new courses and programs and the cancellation or revision of existing courses and programs.
       b. It authorizes its chair or director, or one of its departmental committees, to designate which member of the unit shall take charge of each course or program, and which members shall participate in each course or program.

5.    A proposal to constitute a new department, school, institute, center, or program is in the first instance considered by the Dean of the Faculty, the Academic Planning Group, and the Faculty Committees on the Course of Study and on the Graduate School. Their recommendations are reported to the Faculty. If the Faculty approves the proposal, its action is reported by the President to the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board, which in turn reports to the full Board of Trustees for final action.

       The following academic units are authorized to be the primary academic home for tenured and tenure-track faculty appointments:

Department of African American Studies
Department of Anthropology
Department of Art and Archaeology
Department of Astrophysical Sciences
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
Department of Chemistry
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Department of Classics
Department of Comparative Literature
Department of Computer Science
Department of East Asian Studies
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Department of Economics
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Department of English
Department of French and Italian
Department of Geosciences
Department of History
Department of Mathematics
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Department of Molecular Biology
Department of Music
Department of Near Eastern Studies
Department of Operations Research and Financial Engineering
Department of Philosophy
Department of Physics
Department of Politics
Department of Psychology
Department of Religion
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Department of Sociology
Department of Spanish and Portuguese
Effron Center for the Study of America
Lewis Center for the Arts
Lewis Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics
Princeton Neuroscience Institute
Program in Gender and Sexuality Studies
Program in Linguistics in the Council of the Humanities
School of Architecture
School of Public and International Affairs
University Center for Human Values