Faculty Committees

Faculty Members of the Council of the Princeton University Community

In May 1969, a Special Committee on the Structure of the University, chaired by Professor Stanley Kelley Jr., proposed the establishment of a Council of the Princeton University Community as “a permanent conference of the representatives of all major groups of the University” where “they could each raise problems that concern them and … be exposed to each other’s views.” Meetings usually occur six times a year. Council membership includes faculty, students, staff, and alumni representatives, but meetings are open to all in the University community.

University Student Life Committee

The University Student Life Committee is concerned with fostering relationships among academic, residential and social experiences of undergraduates and graduate students and more generally with the tone and character of University student life. In conjunction with the Council of College Heads, which oversees such matters in the residential colleges, the Committee reviews policies affecting residential and extracurricular life for all undergraduate and graduate students. Members serve a two-year term.

University Research Board

The Board advises the Dean for Research and the President on matters pertaining to research administration and policy. The University Research Board consists of six members of the faculty. Two faculty members are elected by the Faculty at large by the system of the alternative vote and four faculty members are appointed by the President. Each of the four divisions of the Faculty is represented by at least one member.

Committee on Undergraduate Admission and Financial Aid

The Committee advises the President, the Dean of the College, the Dean of Admission, and the Director of Undergraduate Financial Aid Office on policies and procedures governing admission and financial aid. Two members are elected each year to terms of three years. For more details, see the Rules and Procedures of the Faculty Chapter II.

Ex Officio: Jill S. Dolan, Chair; Elizabeth Badger, Secretary; Karen Richardson

Sits with Committee: Rochelle Calhoun; Jim Matteo

Committee on Public Lectures

The Committee selects the incumbents of the Spencer Trask, Stafford Little, Louis Clark Vanuxem, J. Edward Farnum Fund, and Walter E. Edge Lectureships, and arranges for public lectures by members of the Faculty or by invited guests. When two or more lectures are proposed for the same date by other agencies of the University, the Committee has authority to decide whether there is a conflict of interest and, if so, which lecture shall give way to the other.  Members serve two-year terms. For more details, see the Rules and Procedures of the Faculty Chapter II.

Policy Committee on Athletics and Campus Recreation

The Policy Committee on Athletics and Campus Recreation advises the President and the Director of Athletics concerning the conduct and direction of the programs of intercollegiate athletics, physical education, and health and fitness. Members serve for three-year terms. For more details, see the Rules and Procedures of the Faculty Chapter II.

Ex Officio: Adam Maloof, Chair; Director of Athletics, Secretary; Rochelle Calhoun; Elizabeth Colagiuri; Hilary Parker

Committee on the Library and Computing

The Committee advises the President on the operation and development of the Library, particularly in relation to educational policy, and on all matters involving University computing and related information services. The Committee works closely with the Librarian and the Vice President for Computing and Information Technology on planning and resource allocation for both educational and research purposes, and reviews policies governing the use of library and computing facilities. Members serve for three-year terms.


Subscribe to RSS - Faculty Committees