C. Committees Governing Research

       The University committees charged with oversight of research projects at the University and their compliance with federal, state, and University regulations report to the Dean for Research. This reporting structure facilitates the development of an integrated and effective institutional compliance program covering all facets of research. The committees are comprised in compliance with federal regulations and consist of faculty members, staff members with expertise in the particular area of each committee, and, where appropriate, community representatives. Please refer to the Office of the Dean for Research for current committee membership. New members are recruited through the Office of the Dean for Research in consultation with the chair of the Committee and are appointed by the Dean for Research. Committee terms are normally for three-year terms.

        In addition to their oversight responsibilities, these committees advise the Dean for Research in their respective areas of oversight and relevant policy. The Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, Institutional Biosafety Committee, and Institutional Review Board for Human Subjects are administered through the Office of Research Integrity and Assurance. The Radiation Safety Committee is administered through the Office for Environmental Health and Safety.